

SPORTS NEWS

Presidents' Athletic Conference
Joe Onderko, Executive Director
8500 Brooktree Road, Suite 130
Wexford, PA 15090
(724) 933-4630 FAX (724)933-4635
E-mail: onderko@pacathletics.org

Web: www.pacathletics.org

FOR RELEASE: July 20, 2009

Presidents' Athletic Conference (PAC) Announces New Conference Officers for 2009-10 Academic Year

WEXFORD, Pa. – **Dr. Esther Barazzone**, president of Chatham University, will serve as the chair of the Presidents' Athletic Conference (PAC) Presidents' Council in the 2009-10 academic year. Barazzone replaces **Dr. Scott Miller**, president at Bethany (W.Va.) College, who served as the chair of the PAC Presidents' Council in 2008-09.

Dr. Barazzone became President of Chatham University in 1992 after a career as a faculty member and administrator at Hamilton and Kirkland Colleges, the University of Pennsylvania, Swarthmore College, and Philadelphia University. She holds a Ph.D. and M.A. in European Intellectual History from Columbia University, where she was a Fellow of the Faculty. Dr. Barazzone was a Charter Scholar in the first graduating class of New College in Sarasota, Florida, where she earned her B.A. in Philosophy and History. She received a US Student Fulbright award to Spain and studied at the Wharton School of Business Administration and at Harvard University's Institute for Educational Management.

Dr. Barazzone has led Chatham through a period of major institutional renewal and expansion leading to national recognition and elevation to university status in 2007. Because of her leadership, Chatham eradicated a decade of major operating deficits, doubled its endowment and quadrupled enrollment from approximately 620 students in 1992 to 2,100 today. The campus infrastructure has been revitalized through more than \$75 million in construction, renovation and acquisition of 28 structures, as well as the creation of a modern technological infrastructure that includes wireless networking.

With Dr. Barazzone assuming the chair of the Presidents' Council, the other standing PAC councils will also be chaired by Chatham University representatives in the upcoming academic year. Chatham AD **Amy Buxbaum** will serve as chair of the PAC Athletic Directors Council in 2009-10, while the PAC Faculty Athletic Representatives Association (PAC FARA) will be chaired by Chatham FAR **Tracey Johnson**.

The PAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) has elected Washington & Jefferson College rising senior swimmer **Andrew Forish** as President for 2009-10. Geneva College soccer player **David Callahan**, also a rising senior, will serve as PAC SAAC Vice President in 2009-10. In addition, former PAC SAAC president **Conor Simpson**, a former swimmer and recent graduate of Westminster College, will conclude his two-year tenure representing the PAC and the Capital Athletic Conference on the NCAA Division III national SAAC.

Joe Onderko will continue to serve as PAC executive director in 2009-10. Onderko, a member of the NCAA Division III Financial Aid Committee, begins his fourth year as executive director and ninth year overall with the conference this fall.

Founded in 1955, the Presidents' Athletic Conference continues its mission of promoting intercollegiate athletics and the pursuit of academic excellence. Consisting of 10 select private institutions in Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Kentucky, the PAC remains a unique organization in this day of high pressure intercollegiate athletics. With academics at the center of each member's philosophy, the PAC is built on the principle that an athletic program is a part of college life, but not an entity in itself.

The PAC annually crowns champions in 19 sports (10 men, nine women). In 2008-09, the PAC had 41 teams represent the conference in postseason play, including 23 in NCAA championship events. PAC championship teams receive automatic qualification (AQ) status for most NCAA Division III national championship events.